

November 20, 2014

Colleen M. Murphy, Executive Director and General Counsel Freedom of Information Commission 18-20 Trinity Street, 1st Floor Hartford, CT 06106

Carol Carson, Executive Director Office of State Ethics 18-20 Trinity Street, Suite 205 Hartford, CT 06106-1660

Michael J. Brandi, Executive Director State Elections Enforcement Commission 20 Trinity Street Hartford CT 06106

Dear Ms. Murphy, Ms. Carson, and Mr. Brandi:

As you know, both the Office of Policy and Management and the Office of Fiscal Analysis have projected General Fund deficits for fiscal year 2015, absent management action to address any shortfalls. These projections are a result of revised revenues from the November consensus forecast as well as expenditure trends in a number of agencies. While it is my sincere hope that revenue collections will be stronger than forecast, it is my intention that the state end the fiscal year with its budget in balance and thus I am taking action to ensure that result.

Accordingly, I am rescinding allotment requisitions or allotments in force for the Legislative, Judicial and Executive branches effective December 1, 2014. With this is mind, I ask that you voluntarily reduce spending in your agencies by at least one percent this fiscal year, which is in line with the rescissions that are being imposed on other agencies.

Account	Appropriation :	1% Reduction
12481 - Citizens' Election Fund Administration Account	1,948,699	19,487
12522 - Elections Enforcement Commission	1,491,161	14,912
12523 - Office of State Ethics	1,505,762	15,058
12524 - Freedom of Information Commission	1,657,036	16,570

Please respond in writing to Secretary Barnes of the Office of Policy and Management not later than November 28, 2014. Thank you in advance for your thoughtful and prompt attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Dannel P. Malloy Governor

CC:

The Honorable Donald E. Williams, Jr., President Pro Tempore, State Senate The Honorable Brendan Sharkey, Speaker of the House The Honorable Martin Looney, Senate Majority Leader The Honorable Joseph Aresimowicz, House of Representatives Majority Leader The Honorable John McKinney, Senate Minority Leader The Honorable Lawrence F. Cafero, House of Representatives Minority Leader The Honorable Beth Bye, Co-Chair Appropriations Committee The Honorable Toni Walker, Co-Chair Appropriations Committee Shelby J. Brown, OGA Executive Administrator Ben Barnes, Office of Policy and Management Alan Calandro, Office of Fiscal Analysis